• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Is there a easy way to convert a Jass map to a Lua map?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 24
There are some ways but they aren't flawless. If you are using vJass you will lose all of the objects and such, being left with only the compiled JASS.
It's a shame, then, I really don't mind redoing each trigger manually, because I'm just learning and that can help me, my problem was precisely the objects.
There is also an option if you are willing to try TypeScript, which is in my opinion superior to Lua.
I'm just learning about Lua, I can't learn another language. Also, does W3 support it?

Level 20
Version 1.12 of cJass2Lua can be retreived here: goshante/cjass2lua
I have used that tool to convert my Jass triggers and was happy enough with the results, although (like TriggerHappy pointed out) those conversions are never flawless.
In my example, string concatenation was converted wrongly in a lot of cases, when the concatenation involved more than two elements (should have converted second and further "+" into "..", but didn't).

Also, you might encounter a few bugs coming from lua and Jass handling a few things differently. For instance, given a string s, Jass would compute s + null to s, while lua computes s .. nil to nil. That can't be solved by a converter, but you would have to find such an after-conversion-bug on your own.

If you are willing to invest some time (not sure, how many triggers you have and how complicated they are), I can definitely recommend using lua over Jass. Once you got used to it, it offers many features that make programming quicker and more efficient (looking at arithmetic computation speed in Jass...).