• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Importing: Pathing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Could someone tell me a shortcut on paths? There are an ocean of awesome skins on this site, but only a fraction have paths listed...is there a shortcut, or do I need to get the path from everyone who made a skin?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as you people know what you're doing, and I'm just beginning to learn.

Thank you.

Level 2
I've gotten two skins to work, but one of them I simply did Textures\BloodEf-SpellThief.blp or whatever the string was. Is Textures\ interchangeable with Units\race\name\name.blp ?

Still having issues...like that awesome human-looking Headhunter skin done by Shockwave? I put Units\orc\Headhunter\Headhunter.blp in the Import path, then I go to the unit and click Custom under Model File, and I enter Units\orc\Headhunter\Headhunter.blp and all it does is change the .blp to .mdl, and it doesn't do anything but look normal.

:(

Rui

Rui

Level 41
Ehmm then you are talking about models. It's hard to explain it here, but if you import .mdl/.mdx files leave the path alone. The skins for the model, is other history. And about skins, there is no textures history in skins. Like you said, it's just units/race/unitname/unitname.blp . More examples?

units/orc/grunt/grunt.blp
units/human/rifleman/rifleman.blp

It's simple.

~I sent you a PM~

-Rui

Level 13
Err, no, it's not Rui. The skin path can very easily be something totally different, especially with regard to custom made models, and the path you specified will only work on models that specify that path.