• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Importing Models

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
So, this is my first time ever importing models. So I tried to import this model into my map.

I removed the "war3mapImported/" from the file name, and attempted to change out the model file on one of my hero units from TerranMarine to the custom model, but it said "model could not be loaded" and it's a big green and black box.

Also, the profile for the model mentions paths for skins and such, but I have no skin or portrait files for the model.

I have no clue what to do. Model importing is kinda confusing me right now.

Level 32
The Hive Workshop > Warcraft III Tutorials > 3D Modeling Tutorials > How to Import Custom Models is helpful as a general guide.

The Villager Marine model requires no custom textures or file paths:

1. Import the model.
  2. Leave the path set to war3mapImported\VillagerMarine.mdx.
  3. Apply the model to a unit in WE's object Editor.
  4. Save the map.
  5. Exit Word Editor.
  6. Restart World Editor and test the map.

Level 5
Ahhh see I assumed it required a custom skin because I am only using it because I don't want some old by to be the marine, which since the game is in First Person view, any other players in the game would see an old guy as their team mates/enemies.

Ok I'm hoping it'll work now.

I reset the path and it STILL doesn't work.

Should I delete all of the units I'm applying it to before trying to load it?

Level 5