• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Importing Models ...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I hope this is in the right catagorey, but anyway i need help with importing the models i downloaded, i save them then unzip them then i go to import and import the files, but when i try to apply them it dosnt work.... whats up with that?

Level 2
well, i'm a noob at worldedit too but this is what i do
if a model is a model for example: war3mapImported\sephiroth.mdx
i would just make it to sephiroth.mdx
and for the .blp like war3Imported\ribbonblur.blp
take out war3Imported and change it to Textures\ribbonblur.blp
hope thats easy enough for you

oh and make sure to know which slash button to use, don't use the one right next to the shift button which changes it into a ? mark when you hold down shift. use the \ button right above the Enter button

Level 32
Model files themselves (.mdx) require no custom paths and may remain pathed as war3mapimported\modelname.

Backslashes " \ " are always used.

For associated texture files (.blp) one must know the exact custom path for each model. Copy the texture path exactly as shown on the web page where you found the model.

Unknown paths can be determined by using Warcraft III Viewer. Open the model and select: Current File>Show Used Texture Names.

Level 2
How come when i made the file HolyPortal.mdxit made it HolyPortal.mdland then it dosnt work...and how do you get skins that the people dont put in the package to download?

Level 6
How come when i made the file HolyPortal.mdx it made it HolyPortal.mdland then it dosnt work

Its because you can't just change the file type just like that