• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

importing model file types?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Call me daft... but i can't seem to work out how to import mdx or mdl files into Gmax? I'm a bit of a newb at modelling.... Could someone explain to me how to import the blizzard mdx files so that i can start creating... i believe there might be a tutorial on this if someone can point me in the right direction.... and i still don't know what is exactly different between mdx and mdl? Cheers......

Level 1
Whooooo.....OK.......
First of all i just downloaded a heap of file converters ... from ndx into almost anything...OK... i now know the differences between mdx and mdl.... ummmmm.... i can't get any of the converters to convert into any proper file.... they all seem to work OK.... But i'm a bit confused because i still can't open any of them in gmax... including 3ds files? what am i doing wrong... i keep getting an error message in gmax reading an improper file format? do i need to import textures blp into bitmaps? Has anybody got a simple method to extract files and import them into gmax, using only a few programs? Please.... someone answer me and end this nightmare of persistant errors?

Level 1
MDX IMPORTER/EXPORTER NOT WORKING