• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

I'm completely new to all of this

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hi, as the title suggests I'm a total newcomer to making maps. It's always been a dream of mine to make my very own warcraft maps, specifically an ORPG. I have a lot of different dreams about making video games, and I've tried learning a few engines like Unreal Engine and Unity, etc. But I recently got back into warcraft, and while I have essentially ZERO experience with making maps (aside from opening the editor and playing around with it for a few minutes), it feels like it might be an easier start for me to get into crafting my own video games. I know it will clearly take a lot to learn, just like if I were to learn Unreal or Unity, but still it feels a bit easier to me because I really know Warcraft well and can visualize more easily what's possible for me to create with it.

All that being said, I have no idea where or how to start. It's all very overwhelming to feel like I don't know how to get anything fully working. I've looked at the tutorial section here on Hiveworkshop, specifically this basics guide: World Editor Basics
I don't know how else to get started other than to plan to carve out some hours each day, open up the editor, and try figuring it out on my own. But I figured I'd reach out here for anyone who has some really helpful links or sources for where I can go to get help? I really feel like I have some untapped potential with creating a really fun ORPG, and if anyone would like to someday see another fun ORPG with a save/load system, maybe I could end up being someone to help that come to fruition :)