1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Do you have good ideas for new contests? If so, please open new threads in the Contest Submission sub-forum to discuss them.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How to make places to Teleport

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by WogStyles, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. WogStyles

    WogStyles

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey how do you make places to teleport in? like walk into something and it teleports you somewhere
     
  2. TheBlooddancer

    TheBlooddancer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    'Trigger - Unit - Move unit instantly'.

    Just make a trigger ythat does that.
     
  3. Zenerik

    Zenerik

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Create 2 regions, and a trigger like this:

    Event - An Unit Enter [Region 1]

    Action - Unit - Move [Triggering/Entering Unit] instantly to [Region 2]

    There you go.

    Or

    Place the waygate somewhere, create a region, set waygate's destination to that region -----> when the unit entered the waygate, it'll be instantly teleported to center of the region.

    HF.
     
  4. ike_ike

    ike_ike

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    As I discovered recently ... trying to create a two way teleport does NOT work. By that, I mean that you can't have 'enters x, moves to y', and 'enters y, moves to x' . I tried this recently and it completely froze my computer. Horrible, no?
     
  5. TheBlooddancer

    TheBlooddancer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ike: You have to have 2 regions, at the same path. Or you can just turn off the 'back' in like 2 seconds.
     
  6. Airandius

    Airandius

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,238
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Makes sense if u think a bit...

    Unit enters X that goes to Y.
    At same time it activates trigger to go from Y to X.
    Then X goes to Y again etc.. U get this never ending loop.
    X --> Y --> X --> Y --> X --> Y
    This sucks memory aka crash.

    Either: Use waygates like the guy above me mentioned.

    Or make 4 regions.
    X1 goes to Y2
    Y1 goes to X2
    But!
    X2 goes nowhere
    Y2 goes nowhere
     
  7. DarkLordX

    DarkLordX

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The easiest way is the one that said Blooddancer
    Event= Unit enters Region (X)
    Action=Move (TriggeringUnit) instantly to (Center of Region Y)

    I know that I only repeat him but this is the easiest way......xDD