• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Hi! I need some help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hi guys but um... I've been playing a lot of rpgs lately and noticed how they made a save/load system. So I decided to make an rpg too but i'm having a big problem making a save/load system, I'm not good with jass, but I use blizzard's world editor not those jass or whatever it is so I was wondering if you guys can help me make a save/load for my map please? :] or just tell me what to do to make one. I'd appreciate it if you help. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cool: :thumbs_up:
~darkseer1 (noobie editor)
Editted: I will rep you guys! =]

Level 18
JASS:
native MakeSaveLoad takes nothing returns nothing

If you barely understand the World Editor (which it sounds like) then making a save/load system isn't going to be something that I can simply "tell you" how to do. Its like asking "can anybody tell me how to do calculus?". There are a lot of things that come into play its not some simple-ass process that requires 0 work.

The idea behind save/load systems is using number-base conversions to store the values of specific information, such as a player's gold, unit-type, etc.. Basically what this means is that you're taking an integer like "1024" and converting it to something smaller, like "Z". This is a poor representation of the actual conversion but Google is there for a reason. Anyways, once you've "compressed" the integer values of your data you can then display the code to the user. Upon re-entering that code into the game, it will be able to decompress the save-code and transform it back into game information.

Level 12