1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Heroes not supported in Galaxy?

Discussion in 'StarCraft II Modding' started by Yin-Yang, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. Yin-Yang

    Yin-Yang

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I can't seem to find any way to make Heroes in the editor. Also there seems to be no trigger actions related to them.

    Is this just features they decided to leave out until release?
     
  2. vjeux

    vjeux

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  3. Colonel Lance

    Colonel Lance

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Go to your object editor, browse to the unit you wish to make a hero. On the right side of the screen, find the field named "stats - flag." In there will be a hero check mark, you can click that to make the ma hero.
     
  4. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what are Veterancy files?

    P.S. thats not what he wanted, i tested it.

    He wants like lvl 3 heroes with gun items and shit, am i wrong?

    Also, that item tutorial, (i atleast) use a diff editor and it has different values
     
  5. vjeux

    vjeux

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Veterancy == XP
     
  6. Mille25

    Mille25

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    got the same problem here

    i just want to make a simple hero that can gain xp by killing enemys.
    if i choose a unit in the data editor i have 2 options:

    first i can double click it and get a little window, where i can choose "hero", but it seems like this has no effect on the unit itself and just changes the classification of the unit in the editor

    the second thing i can do is browse all the units stats on the right side. but i cant find anything about exp, attributes and so on right there. i already tried the tip (stats - flag --> hero) but ingame i could not notice any effect.
     
  7. Yin-Yang

    Yin-Yang

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I am looking for the EXP bar, Ability points, etc... I can't seem to find them. Also there seems to be no way to have stat growth or have stats affect health, damage, speed, etc.


    This is starting to seem like a bust.
     
  8. Colonel Lance

    Colonel Lance

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  9. Yin-Yang

    Yin-Yang

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Like I said... I don't think it is supported yet.
     
  10. mrzwach

    mrzwach

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    929
    Resources:
    3
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    They stated that it would be available in the final version of the Galaxy editor, not the very first beta release. So, probably just wait a bit and they will probably release hero functionality.
     
  11. Anti98

    Anti98

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hero functionality is quite present from what ive seen, its really not fun todo tho ha.
    You have to make a custom unit hero type then change its flag to hero and then add a behavior of veteran to the hero and there you go, u got a hero. You can then add attributes and abilities.
     
  12. ElectricSaiyan

    ElectricSaiyan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    416
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    ahh thank you!

    That was a PAIN to do.

    I didn't figure out any of the attributes or exp bar yet, though.
    But I got the little hero icon and stuff...so it works.
     
  13. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,804
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Please expand this part, as there is no "veteran" behaviour.
     
  14. JeffreyQ

    JeffreyQ

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Simple step of creating Veteran Behaviour:
    1. Go to Behavior tab in the Data Editor
    2. Right click > Add Object
    3. Name your behavior (Eg: Hero Level)
    4. Set the behavior type to Veterancy
    5. Ignore the rest and press Okay.
    6. Select your new veteran behavior (I name it hero level).
    7. On the right side of the panel, select Veterancy Levels +
    8. Open it and add levels and many more!
    9. Add the behavior to your hero
    10. Enjoy :D
     
  15. Anti98

    Anti98

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Make a new behavior with the type of veteran
    Add the new behavior to your new hero by adding it through the behavior include (there's 2 one doesn't work x.x so try both if one doesn't work)
    And wallah! you have a hero with an experience bar by editing the Veteran Behaviors minimum experience you can add levels.
     
  16. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,804
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    A little note to people repeating this, some forms of inheritence will not work correctly and cause it to not show up as a choosable behaviour.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  17. Yin-Yang

    Yin-Yang

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks guys!

    Now only if they added an auto-fill feature to it. Setting ALL of those stats ans such by hand takes forever!
     
  18. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,804
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Now what about WC3 style learnable skills?
    Any idea on how to do that.
     
  19. Luthion

    Luthion

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it has been done before the editor even came out dr super good, altough i do no have it since being european sucks right now.
     
  20. Yin-Yang

    Yin-Yang

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I am not liking the fact that the made the editor MORE complicated...