• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Discussion] Going from JASS to Galaxy

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 15
I'm familiar with JASS and vJASS and also a programmer by profession.

I've read this not so positive review of the Galaxy scripting language (http://www.sc2mapster.com/wiki/galaxy/script/language-overview/).

I wonder how much of that is actually true.

My question is--is there any major differences between how one writes the map script in JASS versus Galaxy. I don't mean differences between the language, but the style of them (e.g. functional vs imperative programming or a 2 stack push down automaton versus a single tape turing machine). If so, what are these?

One thing I know is true is that a lot of stuff done in JASS can now be pushed to SC2's very powerful Data Editor.

In addition, are there any vJASS equivalents for Galaxy, 'vGalaxy', that provide ways to write more OO code?

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
I've read this not so positive review of the Galaxy scripting language (http://www.sc2mapster.com/wiki/galax...uage-overview/).
That page is not finished. I was in the process of rewriting it but was told to stop because they were doing stuff with their Wiki (removing it, moving it, something like that) which they never finished doing. As such pretty much only the introduction was done. It was not even meant to be a review but more a technical manual.

I wonder how much of that is actually true.
Technically a lot of it is true. But that does not make it a bad language.