• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

generating random maps: water

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 23
I've done a bit of testing on altering terrain pathing through triggers and that seems to be workable, if a little taxing on performance.

next is making the terrain appear in a reasonable way. cliff level visuals cannot be altered ingame except one way: making the whole map water and raising the parts that should be land by using terrain deformations. I've never worked them before but people have warned me about many of their aspects. we'll see how workable this method is.

drawing on minimap is rather difficult. destructibles placed by trigger do not have a minimap icon and spamming units everywhere just to color things would ruin everyone's FPS. the only reasonable method I know of is blight. I've done a few things with it and damn is that shit chancy. perhaps it wants me to understand some intricacy or perhaps it's just following some infernal dice-roll on its behavior.

(a lucky break - blighting a spot that is underwater tends to not actually place any visible blight, but does change the minimap)

with no other option I've experimented on these two by basically slapping random numbers on my trigger and seeing what it does. behold, the result:

ME7eRY4.jpg

this is not yet connected to anything that alters pathing but I don't anticipate much additional difficulty on that part. we'll see.

further considerations: