Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Full Screen Hero Selection?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by ih4ck, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. ih4ck

    ih4ck

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    How to make this type of hero selection system?

    *except for the chat box below the hero selection :grin:

    Show
    [​IMG]
     
  2. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    In starcraft 2 or warcraft 3 :D
    Because you can do it in both :D

    Now when I think about it, I can create system like it and upload in Spell Section...
    Will see, will see...
     
  3. ih4ck

    ih4ck

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @-Kobas-:
    Oh... thank you very much!!! =)
    ~ I wish it will not be jass/vjass =) (cuz i dunno how to import that one haha)
    ~ Just Triggers/Mui?/Gui

    ~I'll give you rep after you make that =)

    @anyone who reads this: =) hey? other tips?
     
  4. cboy123

    cboy123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Hahahaa. It is very IMPOSSIBLE to be GUI (Well, Custom Scripts can do)
     
  5. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    I don't like to advertise but please check this http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/archive-679/systems-189957/

    I needed around 10 hours to make that work.
    GUI only, all systems show there use around 15 triggers together and maybe 50 variables...

    This system he request can be created really easily, at least now, after all that shown above, in just few hours...

    Problem is that I don't have time to work on project at first place...
    Will see what can I do about it...
    But I can't promise anything.
     
  6. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    Using trackables, one can achieve this request :)
     
  7. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,174
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Yeah, with trackables and images. You need JASS for that. When you get the hang of it, it's not difficult at all to create that.
     
  8. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    But I believe someone showed me how to do trackables, using GUI
    D4RK_G4ND4LF I perhaps
     
  9. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Hey hey hey, why to complicate things :)
    He don't need custom inventory system, he just need images :)

    1 dummy unit and 1 destructible with right texture + some gui triggers for unit selection = BAM system rdy :D
     
  10. ih4ck

    ih4ck

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    :grin: So it'll be in jass?

    --> What's the difference between MUI and GUI? LoLx (I don't know what's their difference.)
     
  11. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Graphical User Interface
    (Triggers in our case, because we replaced script language with trigger actions/functions)

    Multi-Unit-Instanceability
    It means that if 2 or more units cause a trigger to fire (casting a spell would be best example), the spell's effect will work properly for both units that cast the ability.
     
  12. ih4ck

    ih4ck

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So GUI spells can only be used by one player?
    And MUI spells can cast the same time by two or more players?
     
  13. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    • Player - THIS TEXT HERE SHOW YOU GUI
    • Player - -Kobas- Take 1000 Gold from ih4ck
    • set ih4ck = angry dude
    • if ih4ck = angry then -kobas- run away else -Kobas- try to steal more gold
    Code (vJASS):

    THIS TEXT IS SCRIPT :PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP
    Hahahahhah bzzzzzzzzzzzz
    Player - -Kobas- Take 1000 Gold from ih4ck
    //
    // sdasdasd
    SCRIPT != GUI
     
    You can create spells that can be used 100 times in same time with GUI or with Script. It's up to you. It's easier and more better to do it with script language (jass, vjass...). Still for using GUI you don't need 3rd party tools or any other programs, just WE and there you go!
     
  14. ih4ck

    ih4ck

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    =) Script language(like v/Jass) are very hard to understand for me :grin:
     
  15. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    I wasn't lazy and worked on this 4 hours!
    So far I created:

    • All interfaces (human/night elf/orc/undead and neutral).
    • 4 Heroes for each interface.
    • System for each player (5 players in test map).
    • Ok button work for all interfaces!
    • Cancel Button work for all interfaces!
    • Change hero buttons work for all interfaces!

    You can pick hero with it even now!

    Still need to:

    • Polish it a little... (Text position/color/size), add effects, change hero model angle and such things!
    • Add Hero info (yellow button above accept/OK button)
    • Add special even buttons to select some bonuses for hero (so far on mind, extra attributes, experience, gold)
    • Try to optimize it even more
    • Write info how to use it
    • Upload :)


    If you have suggestions let me know.
    Oh another thing, so far system use only 4 triggers :xxd:
    Everything is coded in GUI and I needed 36 variables (90% of them are array) for this.
    These numbers can be increased greatly if we add more and more things to it :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      41.5 KB
      Views:
      331
    • 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      55.5 KB
      Views:
      235
    • 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      53.2 KB
      Views:
      254
  16. cboy123

    cboy123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Cool!!!! I would use this stuff anyway
     
  17. ih4ck

    ih4ck

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can that system work on 8 players? :grin:
     
  18. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28