• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

First Attempt at Modeling

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Just started messing around with 3DS Max and tried to make something. Just looking for some advice and comments to help me get better. This is my first attempt making something so keep that in mind when your looking at it. I haven't gotten into texturing yet, still learning.

FirstAttempt.jpg

Took your advice and added smoothing modifier to it. I didn't really intend this for WC3 so the polygons are ok I suppose. The axe blades I forgot to delete the Polygons before I merged them but I decided to leave it, but it does make that weird line when smoothing.

SmoothAxe.png

Second attempt to make something. Added stats from Milkshape 3D and this time I made it simple so it should work in WC3. It's a Scythe if your wondering.

Scythe.png

Didn't know if I can post this next pic, but its a model. Decided to try something new and more advanced. Again let me know how I am doing so I can get better.

WiP.png

Woot, finally got around to learning to texture. Made a chest attachment for villagers, however I still haven't figured out how to finish it so it works.

TexturedArmor.jpg

Last edited:
its cool for a first try!

its a lot more creative than most of the other first pics :p

you should keep in mind what it is for.
will it be seen up close like you make a fps game?
then the polycount could be fine, otherwise its too high (like a normal attachment in wc3 has a lot less polys)
you should always post the poly count with your pics!
also you might want to look into smoothing groups...

i did a little paintover for ideas what i mean...