• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Expected a function name

Status
Not open for further replies.

sentrywiz

S

sentrywiz

I just started learning jass. Taking on this tutorial:

http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/jass-ai-scripts-tutorials-280/beginning-jass-tutorial-series-30765/

But I can't even pass the first lessons without a boatload of errors.

I want to try this code:

JASS:
function Trig_bla_Actions takes nothing returns nothing
endfunction

//===========================================================================
function InitTrig_bla takes nothing returns nothing
    set gg_trg_bla = CreateTrigger(  )
    call TriggerAddAction( gg_trg_bla, function Trig_bla_Actions )
endfunction

function DisplayAMessage takes string message returns nothing
    call BJDebugMsg(message)
endfunction

And call the function from another trigger

• Trigger
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) Presses the Left Arrow key
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Custom script: call DisplayAMessage("Hello")
And its not letting me, tells me the "Expected function name" error and the function is clearly named DisplayAMessage.

Can anyone tell me why oh why?

JASS requires functions to be above the one you're calling in. For example:
JASS:
function C takes nothing returns nothing
    call A() // error, A is not above C
endfunction

function A takes nothing returns nothing
endfunction

function B takes nothing returns nothing
    call A() // no error
endfunction