• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Expected function name

Status
Not open for further replies.

sentrywiz

S

sentrywiz

I just started learning jass. Taking on this tutorial:

http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/jass-ai-scripts-tutorials-280/beginning-jass-tutorial-series-30765/

But I can't even pass the first lessons without a boatload of errors.

I want to try this code:

JASS:
function Trig_bla_Actions takes nothing returns nothing
endfunction

//===========================================================================
function InitTrig_bla takes nothing returns nothing
    set gg_trg_bla = CreateTrigger(  )
    call TriggerAddAction( gg_trg_bla, function Trig_bla_Actions )
endfunction

function DisplayAMessage takes string message returns nothing
    call BJDebugMsg(message)
endfunction

And call the function from another trigger

• Trigger
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) Presses the Left Arrow key
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Custom script: call DisplayAMessage("Hello")
And its not letting me, tells me the "Expected function name" error and the function is clearly named DisplayAMessage.

Can anyone tell me why?
I don't understand. I am copying the code from the tutorial.

Is this placed within the Custom Script Code section of your trigger editor (if you click on the map's name above your triggers)?
160036-albums4747-picture85155.jpg

sentrywiz

S

sentrywiz

No they are inside separate triggers that are converted into custom text.

I am just following the tutorial at the link