• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

edit map dota 6.88x2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello everyone !

I am completely new to World Editor of WarCraft, however I have extensive experience in programming so I understand the logic of software development.

I have these doubts:

1- I would like to know if it is possible to edit the DotA maps as the last one that came out dotA All Stars 6.88x2.w3x.

2 - It is possible to create more detailed statistics for the map gives allstars 6.88x2 as for example to count the times when the Pudge makes a successful Hook against an enemy and display them at the end of the game. ?

3- Following with my second doubt, is it possible to send this statistic to an external database that I can implement for example postgress, mysql, sql server, etc?

I would like you to help me with these doubts, since I am thinking about starting a project, I am aware that it will take me a long time.

Thank you

Level 39
1. No, such a high-profile map is undoubtedly rendered un-editable through strong map protection. This is essentially removing parts of the .w3x file that the editor needs to be able to open the map, but doesn't affect its ability to be played by the game engine.

2. and 3. are feasible in any wc3 map (for example Legion TD keeps track of w/l and ELO externally) but without the ability to modify the map (see 1.) you won't be able to implement this.

Level 2
I understand, then I can not edit the map of dotA AllStars, what I would have to do is create from 0 something similar to DotA? Is it my only option?

My intention is to make the dotA contain more information about each player in order to have a history in a database.