1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Solved] Cannot upload a resource: "The following error occured: Please enter a valid title.".

Discussion in 'Bug Report Forum' started by Krotos, Nov 27, 2018.

  1. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I believe the picture is self-explanatory.

    [​IMG]

    As a note I don't have the map title window above map description either.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2018
  2. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,724
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    @Ralle

    The title bar appears to be missing from the add map form. It is there for the update map form, just not the add map form.

    I am unsure of the cause, but it is physically not on the page (not hidden or very small). Known to effect both Edge and Chrome so is not some browser specific problem.
     
  3. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,749
    Resources:
    28
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    17
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    28
    It's suppose to take map data initially if I'm not mistaken.
     
  4. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,272
    Resources:
    22
    Tools:
    3
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    22
    Right. Can you post the map here so I can inspect it?
     
  5. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Dropped my work in the pastebin here. Fall of Quel'thalas | HIVE
     
  6. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You have a dot in your map name, generally in Windows, a dot marks the start of a file type. So don't include dots in your file name.
    I'd guess that's what the server is annoyed with.

    So name it "Fall of Quel'thalas_1_1.w3x" instead.
     
  7. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    That sounds like some high nonsense, considering the fact Hive has maps with a dot in their name like Lordaeron: the Foremath for example.
     
  8. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well it was a guess.
    Still, good practice to not include dots in filenames :)
     
  9. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,724
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Not his problem. Windows supports file names with multiple dots... A lot of Warcraft III maps use it for versioning.
    Not really...

    If the name is meant to be auto detected, then it is likely a conflict with the map protection solution being used.
     
  10. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Any news on the matter?
     
  11. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,724
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Have you tried uploading a placeholder map first? A simple "Just another Warcraft III map" with some minor name and title changes but without map protection and such.

    If that passes the title test and gets published then you can update it with your actual map and change the title appropriately using the update map template which does have a distinct title field.
     
  12. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    So I tried posting the unprotected version of the map and it did go through, but it doesn't let me update the bundle with the protected version of the map, claiming that I need to use a "valid file with 100 characters or less".
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2018
  13. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,657
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    Not allowing protected maps seem like a great idea to me. I approve
     
  14. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I don't - I don't want to have my work out in the open for some random person to hop in, screw the wires in it and then have it blamed on me.
     
  15. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,657
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    If I wanted to open your map, you can bet money I would be able to.
    You just make it more annoying by protecting it.

    More importantly, I do not like the mindset of "My map is so great I need to protect it because my hundreds of thousands of fans will make copies of it"
    Unless you are the dev of dota that's not realistic and is a doucebag move
     
  16. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I disagree with that - protecting the map is there so that you can't have a 10yo Billy open it, drop some random crap in it and then leave it under your name: the amount of hacked/bugged/broken Tree Tag and DAoW versions should tell you that.

    Besides I don't think this is the place for such discussion.
     
  17. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,724
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    The form of protection you are using must not be compatible with the API Hive is using to extract data from the map.

    Now Hive does support map protection, but some sorts of protection might be so stupid that it is more by chance the map can still be opened in Warcraft III than it being protected.

    I suggest disabling all sorts of MPQ archive corruption protection and trying to upload again. Such protection is stupid anyway since if Blizzard ever changes their MPQ code the map might stop working, and common MPQ tools get updated to bypass such protection quickly after it is discovered.

    If it still does not work, it might be due to some sort of internal file corruption protection, or due to some kind of optimization conflicting with the APIs used by Hive.

    The idea is to disable parts of the protection 1 by 1 until the map can be uploaded. One then knows which feature is breaking Hive and either Hive can be fixed to work with it, or the tool author can fix the protection method so as to not break Hive.
     
  18. Krotos

    Krotos

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Any news on the matter, @Ralle ?
     
  19. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,272
    Resources:
    22
    Tools:
    3
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    22
    Sorry. Had a daughter since I last posted in this thread. Will look into this and get back to you.
     
  20. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,272
    Resources:
    22
    Tools:
    3
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    22
    Fixed.

    It didn't directly have to do with the protection but rather the optimization of inlining phrases instead of using TRIGSTR_XX for strings in the war3map.w3i file.