1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Basic Abilities Help

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Wrath King, May 25, 2019.

  1. Wrath King

    Wrath King

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello guys I need some help with a few things in the WE. First are there some not so complicated (as in not complex triggers) ways to do these stuff:

    - Holy Light and Death Coil. How do I change them to damage enemy units and heal friendly units regardless of the target being undead or living without the damage being halved if used on an enemy?

    - How to make the default abilities like Storm Bolt and War Stomp go thru spell immunity?

    - How do I disable a Way Gate when a certain unit is killed?

    - I made a custom unit based on the default Troll Headhunter and I set the custom upgrades to already have researched the Berserker upgrade. I removed the Berserker upgrade from the used upgrades of my custom unit but somehow my custom unit still not appears in the Barracks. Why is this?

    - How to rearrange custom units in object editor? My problem is that to me it feels messy. I have created a custom human unit and a custom orc race and I changed the custom human unit to be in the orc race. The unit then appears above my custom peon unit and it kinda confuses me so how do I move this unit below the peon?

    - How to create a graveyard on the map? I want to put a lot of corpses of different units on a certain area of the map so how do I do this?

    Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks for helping a newbie out.
     
  2. Sabe

    Sabe

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I believe this is hard-coded and cannot be changed.

    [General] - Bash not working on spell immune units?

    Do a trigger something like this:

    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Dies
    • Conditions
      • (Triggering unit) Equal to [Your unit]
    • Actions
      • Neutral Building - Disable [Your Way Gate]


    What's the point of setting the upgrade already researched, if you just remove it from the unit anyway? And the units that appear on the Barracks are chosen in the Object Editor under the Barracks unit and Techtree - Units Trained.


    tempsnip.png


    As far as a I know, there is no way to rearrange them. Like you have done, the farthest we can go is to assign the unit's race and that way sort units under different folders. But for the logic behind to which order the units are sorted inside the folder is unknown to me.

    There is a doodad under Props category that has a pile of corpses named Remains Scorched. If you want individual corpses, you'll probably have to use the trigger function:

    • Unit - Create Permanent Corpse
     
  3. Chaosium

    Chaosium

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    417
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    In the View menu you have an option to sort items (units, abilities, etc) by name, that's about it. What you can do is give them names like "01 - Footman" "02 - Rifleman" etc.; problem is that it will appear in game, but you can just use it during the map development and them rename them all right at the end.
     
  4. Death Adder

    Death Adder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    892
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can't use the regular Holy Light or Death Coil abilities for this, but what you could do is to make them deal 0 damage (and heal 0) and just trigger the amount of healing/damage instead.

    It's very easy with Holy Light, but it's harder with Death Coil since there's a projectile.

    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Holy Light
      • Actions
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • ((Target unit of ability being cast) belongs to an ally of (Triggering player)) Equal to True
          • Then - Actions
            • Unit - Set life of (Target unit of ability being cast) to ((Life of (Target unit of ability being cast)) + (200.00 x (Real((Level of Holy Light for (Triggering unit))))))
          • Else - Actions
            • Unit - Cause (Triggering unit) to damage (Target unit of ability being cast), dealing (200.00 x (Real((Level of Holy Light for (Triggering unit))))) damage of attack type Spells and damage type Magic
     
  5. Wrath King

    Wrath King

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Sabe I set the upgrade to already researched because I just enjoy possessing enemy workers. That way I dont have to spend resources on the upgrade. Also the problem I have is even tho I put the unit in the units trained field, it still doesnt show in the barracks in game.

    How do I make the damage go thru spell immunity as well instead of just secondary effects like stun or slow?


    Thanks for the help guys
     
  6. Sabe

    Sabe

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hmm, I don't quite understand your problem... The unit should just show up, if you put it on the Units Trained field. What method did you use to set the upgrade already being upgraded?

    Well, basically all you need to do is set the ability's Stats - Required Level higher than 1. This way the ability will be considered as "Ultimate" so it will ignore spell immunity. And this works even on unit abilities.

    1) You just have to temporarily make the ability a hero ability by setting Stats - Hero Ability to true,

    2) then you can set the required level higher than 1.

    3) And then you can revert it back to being unit ability by setting Stats - Hero Ability back to false.

    If it should be a hero ability, then I guess you are stuck with it requiring at least hero level 2. I don't know if there is a way past this.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2019
  7. Wrath King

    Wrath King

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0

    Well here is how I did it. I created a custom unit with the Troll Headhunter as the base unit. I then removed the Berserker upgrade from the used upgrades field and removed all abilities except unit inverntory. After that I set the unit upgrades of the orc race to be already researched. The unit was already in my building units trained field but in game the unit does not appear in game.

    I did this but only the secondary effects went thru spell immunity and not the damage. Is there a way to make the damage go thru spell immunity as well?
     
  8. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,804
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You will have to manually trigger the damage, and for that you'll need a Damage Detection System.
     
  9. Sabe

    Sabe

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Uh, sorry, but I still quite don't understand... :D What exactly are you trying to achieve?
     
  10. Wrath King

    Wrath King

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Oh nevermind. Thanks for the help anyway