1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Auto cast ability that will cast by itself?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Zhall, Aug 30, 2014.

  1. Zhall

    Zhall

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Which of the auto cast abilities will cast by themselves?

    Could I get a priest to heal itself if it had negative health regen (enabled in the editor options)?

    Anything else that will autocast by itself?

    Thanks
     
  2. Mythic

    Mythic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7,725
    Resources:
    102
    Models:
    87
    Icons:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    102
    Do you need it active? Factory can spawn units and stuff.

    What do you need it for?
     
  3. Zhall

    Zhall

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    It just has to trigger a unit casts spell event.
     
  4. Mythic

    Mythic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7,725
    Resources:
    102
    Models:
    87
    Icons:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    102
    Factory could trigger unit enters playable map area, then filter the unit-type (better to have a unit-type for this Factory). It is an easier workaround.

    Otherwise, you could do what you mentioned in the first post; giving something negative health regen. Just make sure the heal ability only targets Self.
     
  5. Zhall

    Zhall

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I've tried that factory spell before, the only problem is you end up with 15,000+ units that were automatically removed by the end of the game, thats a lot of leaks.

    Perhaps it would be easier just to do a pick all units and clean the temp variables, would be easier to sync as well.
     
  6. aple

    aple

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    If you're going to have the Autocast on by default, when the unit finishes training index the unit. When they turn the Autocast off, deindex them. When they turn it on, index them again.

    After that, the best thing you can do is just check every so-often if the unit's current order is equal to the order of the spell...Although for some spells this won't work properly.
     
  7. EdgeOfChaos

    EdgeOfChaos

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    639
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Maybe I am misunderstanding, but do you just mean this field?
    [​IMG]