• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Attribute Scaling Non-Damage skills

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Hello, I have a question regarding using Attributes to scale abilities. I'm fairly new to coding as a whole and coding in GUI in the trigger editor also poses a little problem as it gets tedious going through every window trying to find which event/condition/action I want. So I was hoping if someone could help me logic out this simple spell, hopefully, to help me get a base understanding of how to do it in the future.

For example, the spell I am trying to edit is Evasion. How would I go about having the % chance to evade scale off of an Attribute?

Level 39
If you hate the windows you should just learn Lua or JASS right off the bat. They are not hard. You can also avoid some amount of window hell by using many variables in GUI.

There are now ways to set ability fields with triggers so you could just dynamically update the dodge chance periodically. I believe the one you want is called “Set ability real level field”. You then have to pick the right field, and you can see which one is for dodge chance by pressing ctrl+d in the OE while looking at the ability.

Another way would be to use a Damage Detection System and trigger the evasion yourself.

Level 7
Thank you. And I don't particularly hate it, it's just frustrating searching for certain things, however, I am mostly new to coding so it is much easier than writing it by hand.

I do have a follow-up question and figured I'd ask here then create a whole new thread.