• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Attribute Scaling Abilities

Level 7
Hello, how do you make an ability scale with a hero attribute? For example, i want an ability to gain 5x the agility in bonus damage.

Note: I am not a professional with triggers

Thanks in advance.

Level 5
Hi Xzere, welcome to the Hive ! You can achieve want you want with a very simple trigger.
This example below will add (x5 agility * level of ability) as base damage when the ability is learnt :goblin_yeah:

• Your Ability Trigger
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Learns a skill
    • Conditions
      • (Learned Hero Skill) Equal to Agility Damage
    • Actions
      • Unit - Set Base Damage of (Triggering unit) to ((Unit: (Triggering unit)'s Weapon Integer Field: Attack Damage Base ('ua1b') at Index:0) + ((5 x (Agility of (Triggering unit) (Include bonuses))) x (Level of Agility Damage for (Triggering unit)))) for weapon index: 0

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 64
First we create an Integer (Array). This will store the desired abilities base damage per level.
  • Breath of Fire Setup
    • Events
      • Map initialization
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set VariableSet BreathOfFire_Damage[1] = 100.00
      • Set VariableSet BreathOfFire_Damage[2] = 200.00
      • Set VariableSet BreathOfFire_Damage[3] = 300.00
Then when we cast the ability we calculate the amount of damage it should deal referencing the BreathOfFire_Damage variable. We also use some arithmetic to add in the bonus Attribute damage.
  • Breath of Fire Cast
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Breath of Fire
    • Actions