• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Angle Between Points

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40
Hello. I got a little math problem here. I am in need of detecting an angle between points in C#. And since I havnt learned the math I have to take the math from somewhere.

Atm I want to convert the BJ AngleBetweenPoints to C# code. But there is an small error.
JASS:
return bj_RADTODEG * Atan2(GetLocationY(locB) - GetLocationY(locA), GetLocationX(locB) - GetLocationX(locA))

here is a " , " I dont know what that means. shouldnt it be + or something?

EDIt: new problem/issue, info in this post
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/...e-98/angle-between-points-244493/#post2447414

Last edited:
Level 12
It should be " / "

I am studying survey and I use this formula almost every day.

The formula is: Y1-Y2= dY (d = difference, normaly it is whritten with greek delta) X1-X2= dX
Atan ( dY / dX ) = Angle

The whole formula is: Atan [ (Y1-Y2) / (X1-X2) ]

Hope I was helpfull.

PS: Not sure if it is like this in computer science

Edit// Started whriting before TriggerHappys post. Better refer to his post.

Last edited:

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40
I tried it just now and it doesnt work. Or well it does work but it doesnt calculate as it should.

Note that this is just a test not a serious line so variable names are not supposed to be normal :p
JASS:
angle = (int)(Math.PI / 180) * (int)Math.Atan2(Move.position.Y - Chest.chests[0].minY, Move.position.X - Chest.chests[0].minX);

this gives the value 0

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40
if that was the case it would resault in doing in the opposite direction? that is not the case. it still says the angle is around 0 even tho I move around ingame.

edit: ok something is really wrong here o_O