1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Adding team color to a new texture.

Discussion in 'Texturing & Surfacing' started by Stanakin, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. Stanakin

    Stanakin

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Resources:
    102
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    63
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    33
    Resources:
    102
    I've got a question.
    I'm working on a texture for the paired modelling/texturing competition and I now want to add team color, but I have no idea how to do this.
    I'm using GIMP for working with alpha channels. Can anyone tell me how?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Argus

    Argus

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    I believe team colour is but another layer in the material, so it's the modeller's job to add it. Careful though, you can't alpha out parts of geosets with team colour.
     
  3. shiiK

    shiiK

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,745
    Resources:
    54
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    30
    Skins:
    22
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    54
    Team Colour is done by making the texture transparent. If it doesn't show up as team-colour when you add alpha (but rather disappears) it's because the material used for the geoset (modelling) you're applying the changes to is not set to allow team-colour. This can be changed quite easily in Magos' WarCraft III Model Editor (available in the tools section) by yourself, but considering it's a paired contest I am sure the modeller can do it for you and make sure it works out as it should rather than you risking to destroy something.
     
  4. Dentothor

    Dentothor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,981
    Resources:
    58
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    38
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    17
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    58
    It is in fact a special material that is put onto parts of the model, so that, given transparency, will show up as team colour. And it can be easily changed as shiiK had said.
     
  5. Stanakin

    Stanakin

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Resources:
    102
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    63
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    33
    Resources:
    102
    Thanks!