• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

(adding) Hero Glow [to normal units]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Are there any custom fx / models out there you can add to a unit to make them look like a hero? (without using a hero model)

I searched in the models on this site, and could not find anything like this.

ty

Level 3
I read a tutorial on how add a hero glow to a non hero unit like a year or two ago however had since forgotten how to do it... But i did try to do it again and eventually it sorta came back to me in about half an hour. I am not very experienced with model editing but i'll try to explain what i did in this wall of text. First of all you need to have magos model editor (aka: War3 Model Editor):

1. Open the model you want to create a glow on and open the "Texture Manager" and create a "empty" texture. It will show up as "Replaceable ID 0"

2. Right click "Replaceable ID 0" and then go to "edit". Where you can type a number type down the number "2" which stands for team glow. (if you look at the legend you see a list of numbers and descriptions but don't worry about the rest.)

3. Next you want to open the "Material Manager" you'll probably see a list of materials. Now you're going to need to make one. Right click and "create new". Right click again, this time inside the window that popped up labeled "layers" and then "create new" again.

4. Under "texture id" go to the drop down and select your texture "Replaceable ID 2". Then under "filter" go to the drop down and select "additive" and then you're done with the material section.