• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

A problem with trigger - Quest Message??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Eh, I'm new in these triggers and I've been trying to create a trigger that will summon a quest message or a Game Message to a player saying: Welcome to the city of....and etc. However, I'm having a problem and I don't know what's wrong.

Here's what I want to do:

When a unit enters region, write a message onscreen saying: Welcome to the city!, but the message must show ONLY to the player who enters region, not to all players. Can someone tell me how to do this trigger?

Level 10
Eh, I'm new in these triggers and I've been trying to create a trigger that will summon a quest message or a Game Message to a player saying: Welcome to the city of....and etc. However, I'm having a problem and I don't know what's wrong.

Here's what I want to do:

When a unit enters region, write a message onscreen saying: Welcome to the city!, but the message must show ONLY to the player who enters region, not to all players. Can someone tell me how to do this trigger?

• Game - Display to (All Players) the text: Welcom to the city...
Edit; oh you ment like that, read wrong =/
Just add the owner of entering unit to a player group then display the message to the player group then remove thw onwer from player group again.

Level 7
Use this line of custom script in your trigger
  • Custom script: call DisplayTextToPlayer(GetOwningPlayer(GetTriggerUnit()), 0, 0, "Welcome to the city!")
This one line of jass will allow you to display a message to a single player, which isn't really available in GUI unless you convert a player into a player group.