• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

A few skinning questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 13
Im new to skinning and I am currently working on my first skin (aka. a Blood Elf Assassin) and I had a few questions:
  1. Is using the smudge tool on the face a mistake?
  2. Is there a better program to use for converting to .blp files than Wc3 Image Extractor?
  3. Why does my skin look fine flat, but blurry wrapped?

Heres a pic of my skin so far (Its not the best, but we all hafta start somewhere right?):

bloodelf9hc.png

Level 8
1. Smudge can do wounders but it takes alot of practice to learn how to use it. I recommend the Burn and dodge tools for doing shading on the face though.

2.you can also use the Magos model editor it also works for applying the skin

3. the reason it looks blurry is becuase of the streching cuased by unwraping you can semi-counter this by making the texture a higher resolution and mainly rewrapping it again but acourse it woulden't be that effecient in terms of making it hassle free.

Level 4
1. Try to avoid using any other tool than the brush if you can. I guess that if you´re just starting , you could use dodge and burn (You should use the recolor tool later to fix the colors), but once you get used to drawing you should do everything with the normal brush. But i suggest that you don´t use smudge AT ALL, it gives crappy result.

2. I always recommend the WC3 Viewer tool, you can extract both models and textures, it´s not buggy and it´s very reliable.

3. What everyone said

1. Is using the smudge tool on the face a mistake?
  2. Is there a better program to use for converting to .blp files than Wc3 Image Extractor?