1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Vote for the best entries in the 13th Music Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

a few questions here... please do help{making a unit freeze when hit by Phoenix Fire}

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by neogaidenx, Apr 5, 2009.

  1. neogaidenx

    neogaidenx

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    please help me on both.... hey how do i make a unit froze when being hit by phoenix fire?? and lets say i have "20 triggers", "20 portal", "20 portal to". i'm trying to make each portal teleport the entering unit to a random "portal to" it works.. but should i use the same integer variable for every portal? or should i use 1 integer variable for 1 portal?
     
  2. AJalex

    AJalex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    1) Make a custom ability based on frost wyrm frost ability and change what you need there.
    2) Make an integer with 20 posibilities and when a unit enters a portal make the trigger to "shuffle" the numbers and if the integer stops at 6 for example make him move to the portal that has 6 given to it.
     
  3. neogaidenx

    neogaidenx

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    1) no man..... i just wanted a phoenix fire ability to frost the enemies around it.. but whatever i've figured it out.

    2) my question was 1 integer for all portal or 1 integer for each portal. i suppose your answer was 1 all portal *Make an integer with 20 posibilities...*.

    im still not sure about q,2
     
  4. Tr!KzZ

    Tr!KzZ

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    800
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    18
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    9
    Resources:
    29
    for question 2, i suggest to use 1 variable, with an array of 20, so it's one for each portal..this way you can easily work with the portals and triggers..

    i think AJalex ment the same like me, for the trigger you only have to randomize this arrayvalues.
    sure, you'll have to set the variable first for it :p like: portal[1] = <Portal 002> and so on
     
  5. wolfman

    wolfman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Or add all of the Potral2 units to a unit group and then get the location of a random unit from that group (one of the portals) and move the unit to that point. It should work.
     
  6. idodik

    idodik

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    For Q1 - Frost Armor freezes nearby enemies, if you want the frost with the attack you'll have to trigger a Phoenix Fire.
     
  7. BearMachine

    BearMachine

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    For question 1 i think you should make a dummy unit with the storm bolt skill with a freeze looking buff, a dummy hero skill which has no real effect and apply a periodic trigger which checks for units in range of units with that hero dummy skill and then create a dummy and order it to target a random enemy within a range of e.g. 600 yards of the unit which has the dummy hero ability.
     
  8. neogaidenx

    neogaidenx

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    yeah.. phoenix fire buff with slowed doesn't work, it just shows the effects but doesn't actually slow the enemy.. i guess i could do something like.. "actions:
    (if/then/else)if-unit has buff (slowed), then-set unit movement speed to x%. wait for x seconds. set unit movement speed to 100%, else-do nothing" but what do i put under events?

    argh.. i dont know how to do these dummy stuff..
     
  9. wolfman

    wolfman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Do this

    Trigger1
    Every .1 seconds
    Pick all units in Slow Group
    If unit has buff Slow
    Then set picked unit ms to X%
    Else Remove picked unit from Slow Group
    set picked unit ms to default

    Trigger2
    Every .1 seconds
    Pick all units that have buff slow
    Add picked unit to Slow Group

    This should work. You can also change the vertex coloring of the unit to make it look blue tinted
     
  10. neogaidenx

    neogaidenx

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    oh ok then i'll use trigger thanks!
     
  11. wolfman

    wolfman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Dont forget about giving rep to the ppl who helped you!! :D