• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

[Spell] A few questions for spell set-up

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
I have some questions(as the title would imply) about setting up a few spells through Triggers. I know very little about GUI and JASS, and I'm fairly new to using the editor for things like this, but, anyway, here are my questions:

1. I want to setup a spell that is used as an on-hit ability that deals damage based on level&stats but has a cooldown. I tried using a few of the in-game ones that are similiar as a base(cold arrows and searing arrows), the ability was used on hit, the cooldown procced properly, but the triggers didn't add any damage. I'd also like the ability to stun for 1 second, but I couldn't find a way to stun the unit with triggers.
This is what I have so far(Currently using Cold Arrows as base ability, have duration for Heros&Units set to 1 second, slows by 0.01 and deals 0.01 damage, I assumed this necessary for triggers):
  • Slam
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Slam
    • Actions
      • Set Caster2 = (Triggering unit)
      • Set Target2 = (Target unit of ability being cast)
      • Set LoopCounter2 = 0
      • Unit - Cause Caster2 to damage Target2, dealing ((Real((Strength of Caster2 (Include bonuses)))) x (0.10 x (Real((Level of Slam for Caster2))))) damage of attack type Normal and damage type Normal