• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

A consistent and growing problem: custom maps not showing up ingame

Level 2
I've been playing WC3 custom maps for like 15 years now. This isn't a new problem. I worked through all the standard blanket methods to fix the issue during my life. Rename the map, move it to another folder, try a different WC3 patch. Perhaps I'm just using the wrong WC3 patch? - nope, the map works on the same patch on a different PC.

But now, more and more maps that I'm downloading just don't show up anymore ingame. Like now, I downloaded like 10 maps and only 3 of them show up. Try and back up to patch 1.31 or 1.28, and SOMETIMES it shows up but can't be opened (the standard issue where the menu goes up as if to open the map, but then instantly comes back down). Googling and searching only gives me 4+ year old results that don't work.

Standardly I'm using 1.35

Since these maps work for some other people using the same warcraft 3 patch as me, I'm assuming there is something unique in this PC that could be screwing things up. Here are a few things that come to mind:

I have 13 different folders within the "maps" folder in Documents. I have over 5GB worth of custom maps. I have five different WC3 clients installed on my PC (1.24, 1.28.5, 1.31, 1.35, Korean WC3 with JNloader)

Some questions to help brainstorm possible solutions to this issue:
  1. Why are you using 1.35 and not 1.36?
  2. Have you carefully confirmed that the maps you downloaded had a map version the same or older than the game version you were using?