• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

WoW RP - dead or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
Hi guys.

First a bit about myself. I am an old-school gamer, playing different games since 1992. But I didn't play MMOs much, except for Ultima Online about 10 years ago.
A few days ago I started playing SWTOR F2P and really liked it, the story, the gameplay, etc. Unfortunately there are not many people on European servers: even PvE has only about 100-150 people on each planet, let alone RP with 10 to 20 people mostly. It's great for story based game but, since it's made as MMO, feels a bit lonely sometimes.

So I decided to try WoW (Starter Edition). However, being not as story-based as SWTOR, the experience would be just slaying endless monsters while leveling-up. I read some articles about RP servers and decided to give them a shot. I picked Argent Dawn as seemingly the most popular RP server in Europe.

So I spent some time reading about post-WC3 events (as I had no clue what has happened since the end of TFT), made some research on Forsaken specifically and built up my female undead's story. Then I started playing.

However, in a few hours I've met only somewhere like 10 players, and they did not interact with me at all, they just ran around leveling up. I tried to roleplay my character, to talk to other people, but the only response I got once was 'hey' and the guy ran away, and others didn't respond at all. It felt even more lonely than on SWTOR PvE servers, and nothing resembled the promised roleplaying at all.