• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Wolfrider - Need Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 11
Hi. My texture ( http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/skins-552/wolfrider_armorv2-blp-193245/#post1889935 ) will be deleted by moderators if I won't improve it any time soon. The textures is for a map I'm making, but it still has to be good, does it not?

Could you please look at it and tell me what I can do to make it acceptable?
I'm not planning to edit the wolf - only the rider. And the rider is not supposed to have fangs, because it's human, so I didn't touch the fangs.

Please help me.

Level 11
I've freehanded the face and made metal highlights and shadows stronger.

Do I really have to redraw the wolf too? It looks like a lot of work, and I'm not very experienced at skinning at all.

If you still advise me to redraw the wolf, then I will.

Attachments

• Wolfrider_armor.tga
    256 KB · Views: 70
Level 7
I cant remember but I remember editing the alpha channel for Illidan years ago. I went to the alpha channel, then used Red and colored over his ears to make them invisible, rather than editing the model.

This is better so you can still use the ingame model.

I suggest you just put red over the alpha channel where the original wolf rider's teeth are. Hope this helps make your model better.

In some models, the unit has 2 layers of textures in a certain area (one layer is the texture itself, the other is team colour, or replaceable textures, you can see this in Magos). So, by alpha-ing out bits with team colour beneath, the certain bit of the first layer is rendered transparent, however, the team colour beneath is still visible.

Level 11