1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Fill your cup and take your pick among the maps best suited for this year's Hive Cup. The 6th Melee Mapping Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Shoot to thrill, play to kill. Sate your hunger with the 33rd Modeling Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Do you hear boss music? It's the 17th Mini Mapping Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

What should i purchase?

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by Metabee, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. Metabee

    Metabee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    651
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I wna know what program 4 modelling i should buy, i need a program, that can:

    Make bones, Make animations, Make particles, and everything i need 2 make a model from scratch.
     
  2. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    3DS Max 5. Plain and simple

    Don't get 3DS Max 6 if you wanna use the Art Tools, and be prepared for a lot of learning
     
  3. Modeler

    Modeler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ..

    Dont buy either, use Gmax, its free and has only a few errors more than Gmax.
     
  4. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Yeah, but 3DS Max 5 can use the art tools. And then I don't get hundreds of questions asking about exporters for Gmax. And add on the fact that the Gmax exporter isn't exactly able of exporting very well, and he said "Buy", I think he's asking about one to purchase <_<;;;

    And Gmax can't make emitters for WC3 to my knowledge. Corse I can just make them in mdl, but whatever
     
  5. Crazynutter

    Crazynutter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    484
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I Want to get 3ds max 5 but i cant find it Any where, any1 got any ideas??
     
  6. Metabee

    Metabee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    651
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    ok, i, where can i get gmax? i wna dl it and try it, or else i'll get 3dsmax 5.
     
  7. Cold_raider

    Cold_raider

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  8. Afronight_76

    Afronight_76

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,317
    Resources:
    75
    Models:
    21
    Icons:
    26
    Skins:
    26
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    75
    ..all i see there is 3dsmax 7.
     
  9. Metabee

    Metabee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    651
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Just go in2 Products, and then 3Dsmax is on the left side.
     
  10. Cold_raider

    Cold_raider

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    this is the dirrect link to the ones that don't wanna look for it. Gmax is almost as good as 3ds max and it's free :D
     
  11. alreadyused

    alreadyused

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    Hes right you can do alot with gmax...however it is alot more tedious to get a finished product out of gmax. Its free though, vs thousands of dollars just to make models lol..if you learn to use gmax to do your models youll be forced to learn many side steps to a completed model.