• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Very noobish triggeriring help... or variables if you prefer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
25
Is there any other way, in an AOS map, to have units attack move on a set path (that twists and turns, i set multiple regions so the units don't hug the inside of the path and make it look ugly), without using so many triggers? As in, I mean copying the "attack move" to region trigger and copying and pasting it alot.

I here you can do this with variables. Is this true?

Thanks guys :D
 
Level 5
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
114
since no one has answered yet and your post has been up for almost an entire day i suppose i should tell you that no, i don't think there is any way to get around this. it's annoying and mind-numbing work to create pathing AIs but in order to make a good map you'll have a lot of such mind-numbing work to do alongside the really creative and rewarding stuff.
 
Level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
25
Oh, ok. I don't mind making the triggers, it's just when playing a new game a friend made. (it was kind of like tech wars) he said he made the unit movement with variables, so I was wondering how to do that, and possibly avoid the lag.

Thanks for the help tho guys :)
 
Level 2
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
13
There is a way to use less triggers. It involves region arrays.

I don't have access to the editor at the moment so I'll just give you a basic idea for now. I'm in the process of moving, so give me a few days and I can give you a real example of what I'm trying to say.

But for now, here's a blind attempt:

This is assuming there is only 1 path.

You create your array, rgnPath, for example. Set it to a X (where X is the number of regions in the pathing) value array.

Then you make a simple trigger to declare the variables in your array.

Map Initialization

Set rgnPath(1) = Out of Spawn Region
Set rgnPath(2) = First turn Region
Set rgnPath(3) = Second turn Region
Set rgnPath(4) = End Zone Region
Etc.

Note: I have no idea how your pathing is laid out, this is just a crude example I came up with on the spot.

With your Array now declared you can make your trigger.

It would be something like this:

Whenever a unit owned by Player Y(Owner of the creeps) enters rgnPath(1)
Whenever a unit owned by Player Y(Owner of the creeps) enters rgnPath(2)
Whenever a unit owned by Player Y(Owner of the creeps) enters rgnPath(3)
Whenever a unit owned by Player Y(Owner of the creeps) enters rgnPath(4)
etc.

For Integer A = 1 to X (X is the number of regions in your array)
And this is where my lack of World Edit shines through.

If *Region unit is in* = A Then
Unit - Order triggering unit to AttackMove to rgnPath(A + 1)



And that's pretty much it. Basically what this does is:
The For statement loops through each region in the arrya to compare it to where the unit is, this allows you to determine where the unit is; rgnPath(A), therefore where to tell it to go from here. You want it to goto the next region in the array so you order it to move to A + 1. Easy, right?
 
Level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
25
Thanks for all your help guys. I suck at variables, but I'll spend a weekend trying to get this all organized and stuff.

Look for my map (the very first one I plan to finish 100%) Siege Of The Undercity.

Thanks again for your help :D
 
Level 8
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
466
the array size does nothing whatsoever, just so u know ^^

untitled1dn9.png

^--------------- sets array elements to default values

It may be nothing with integers, but adding units to null groups might cause troubles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top