• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Trying to use a string to teleport units from one region A to region B

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Disclaimer;
I've looked through some tutorials and I've googled a fair bit but I'm coming up short.
I'm not here to have someone write my triggers and variables for me, I'm just looking for some help in understanding how to use the tools correctly.
If anyone could link a tutorial regarding variables that has some practice examples in it that would be much appreciated!

Also I'm VERY new to WC3 WE so Arrays, Variables and Integers are probably a bit out of my depth right now, but I'm trying to learn how to use them.

Goal: Teleport unit(s) inside of Region A to Region B using a String.

I've created a region called (Dungeon entreance outside).
When a Hero unit steps inside the region and the player who owns the unit writes "-enter" in the chat I want all the units inside (Dungeon entreance outside) to teleport to another region (Dungeon entreance inside).

My first attempt:
  • Enter dungeon unit group Copy
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit enters Dungeon entreance outside <gen>
    • Conditions
      • ((Entered chat string) Equal to -enter) and (((Triggering unit) is A Hero) Equal to True)
    • Actions
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in Dungeon entreance outside <gen>) and do (Unit - Move (Triggering unit) instantly to (Center of Dungeon entreance inside <gen>))
How is the "Triggering unit" decided?
My guess is that the Trigger hasn't been declared or that I (player red) is the "Triggering unit" since I'm the one entering the string?
Or do I have to enter the String before the unit enters the region?