1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll is up! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Triggering Hero Name Change

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by orcfan32, Oct 31, 2004.

  1. orcfan32

    orcfan32

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I need a trigger for my upcoming campaign. This trigger is supposed to change the hero's name. I think that it will have to use substrings. The trigger is:

    PickName
    Events
    Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing -Name as A substring
    Conditions
    Actions

    That's all the further I got.
     
  2. Panto

    Panto

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm sorry, there's no way to change a hero's proper name via triggers.

    If you're working from a small list of names, you could try re-creating the hero and testing its name until you get the one you want. Otherwise, you're out of luck.
     
  3. birdofprey160

    birdofprey160

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think I heard once it was possible with Jass. Or is that not true? I wouldn't really know either way.
     
  4. Panto

    Panto

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    533
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Not true. There are some things that you can do with Jass that have never been enabled in GUI, but it's not magic-land language.