1. Are you planning to upload your awesome spell or system to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Fill your cup and take your pick among the maps best suited for this year's Hive Cup. The 6th Melee Mapping Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Shoot to thrill, play to kill. Sate your hunger with the 33rd Modeling Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Do you hear boss music? It's the 17th Mini Mapping Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

ThisPOT's Simple GUI Build System

Submitted by ThisPOT
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
ThisPOT's Build System V:2.2 (FIXED)


Ever wanted a brand new build system for the Warcraft 3 engine?
TPBS is a "Construction Yard" type building system, adapted to warcraft 3.
You can have buildings build other buildings, from the same tab as a worker would.
It flawlessly integrates with any other system as it doesn't store any information anywhere.
It is easy to use for anyone, even with no GUI experience, all the info is detailed in the demo.






EZ READ ME:

1) Copy/Paste the "Building..". unit into your map (in the Object Editor).
2) Give this "Building..." unit all the buildings of your map that can be constructed by anyone that will use the system
3) Give your buildings whatever other buildings you want them to construct (don't give them the repair ability, unless you want to).
4) Set the system values to whatever fits your map the EZ READ ME trigger in the demo.


NOTES:
* Does not work with Night Elf buildings
* When using the normal editor, you need to set structures to "Is a Building: False", add the buildings you want it to be able to build in "Structures Built", then set back to "Is a Building: True". By default units that are buildings do not have that line in the editor, but it appears when you set it to false, then you set it back to true as this system only works for buildings hehe...



Q: What is the system doing overall?
A: In short, it's a system that allows one structure to build many other structures at once

Q: What exactly is it doing?
A: It creates invisible dummy units that build for you when you build from your main structure

Q: Are there existing similar concepts in other rts Games one might know?
A: Yes, many, the most famous would be the Command and Conquer or Red Alert series


Changes Made
  • Distance check includes collision size using a second dummy that attempts to cast a spell
  • Fixed a player group leak
  • Fixed a sound bug that would say you don't have enough gold when you do but are low on gold
  • Fixed an error that would cause the trigger to activate if a point ability was used by the building structure
  • Fixed an error that would cause the trigger to activate if a point order was used by the building structure
Suggestions
  • Changed IssuePointOrder to IssuePointOrderLoc to shorten script
  • Added all possible standard buildings to the dummy builder (Night Elf buildings don't work)
  • Added a Boolean to determine if you can also build next to allied buildings


Thanks for all the help and suggestions to make this system better guys! :)
Previews
Contents

ThisPOT's Simple Build System V2.2 (Map)

Reviews
Tasyen
Approved, Thanks for your contribution. An Alternative Base Building System. With this system, buildings can place buildings. The placed buildings are automatically built and, once completed, enlarge the area in which your own buildings can be placed....
  1. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    ....and no documentation

    well, add something to the main post, explain how it works.
     
  2. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I did say how it works... :


    It's just ridiculously simple and it's all it does lol....

    Shouldn't conflict with any other code.


    EDIT: If I missed your point please feel free to elaborate.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2018
  3. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,201
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    You should add a documentation that players need to copy past this to their map with the preference turned on. Ridiculously simple and then they wonder why 100+ error because of preference issue.

    I have slight look on the actual code, but I'll comment on it later.
     
  4. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Understood, I will add detailed instructions right now.

    PS: I'd love to hear any improvements you think I should do to the code! :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2018
  5. DiegoSan

    DiegoSan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Puff, long time not logged in... but ok.
    As far as I can say, this simple trigger system is really useful. However, I've got two things to tell/ask about...

    1. Is it possible to adjust it so you could build stuff close to "Allied player's" structures too?

    2. Not sure if that's supposed to happen - let's say i've got 90 gold and 20 lumber, enough to build a Farm, right. When I build Farm via structure (Town Hall), it works fine, just like as intended - the building process starts smoothly, HOWEVER! However, for some reason it informs me of "More gold is required", even though building is in progress and Farm is about to spawn on Construct time's ending.

    Regardless, i really appreciate for making this simple and working. Definitely deserved a respect, but would be extra good if you could address the 2nd question if possible.
    Thank you!

    [EDIT] Another bug i've encountered that could see an improvement - if you set a rally-point from a production building like Barracks, it shows message "Too far!". This definitely could see some more work.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
  6. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    21
    Thanks for your contribution.

    Could ya explain your resource a bit more, Some questions you could answer in the description to be more informative:

    What is the system doing overall?
    What exactly is it doing?
    Are there existing similar concepts in other rts Games one might know?

    Needs Fixed
    • Distance check is from building centers to target Point excluding collision size
      • big buildings give less useable built space then smaller buildings.
      • -> makes big buildings clustered and having less room between.
    • Player Group(Owner of Triggering Unit) creates a new Force which is not destroyed.
    • As DiegoSan said, if one has enough gold/Lumber to built 1 building but not for 2 one gets an error sound: "not enough lumber/Gold": could be fixed by stopping the townhall before the worker is created and ordered.
    • DiegoSan is right about setrally point, although "too far" is also shown when any building would use a target point spell.
    Suggestions
    • Instead of X/Y Order you could use IssuePointOrderLoc which would remove (udg_ThisPOT_Build_X / udg_ThisPOT_Build_Y)
      • call IssuePointOrder (udg_ThisPOT_Build_Unit_BuildDummy, udg_ThisPOT_Build_Order, udg_ThisPOT_Build_X, udg_ThisPOT_Build_Y)
      • ->
      • call IssuePointOrderLoc(udg_ThisPOT_Build_Unit_BuildDummy, udg_ThisPOT_Build_Order, udg_ThisPOT_Build_Point)
    • It would be nice, If on Default the builder Unit would contain all Melee Buildings.
    • About that RallyPoint: A easy fix for most townhalls could be: Filter out "smart" and "setrally". But there is a more general fix needed cause it will trigger for any building giving an point order, which is not uncommon (does exist in melee with that goblin shop revealing an area for gold, yes it won't show "too far" cause not beeing owned, but one might now understand what I wana say it might happen alot with custom buildings having target point spells)
      • But smarter it would be to use directly String to UnitType.
    Status

    Awaiting Update​
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2018
  7. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Hi guys thank you for all the output! And very sorry for being away for so long.

    I will get working on those issues right away and provide a cleaner / updated version shortly.


    EDIT: All fixes and suggestions have been implemented :)!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2018
  8. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    21
    It is almost Good.
    There are still 2 small trigger concerns.
    • You display the given order which is proably a debug message, pls remove it from the uploaded resource.
    • The "too far" is displayed for right clicks "smart" orders.
    As I suggested before, this unitType check inside the trigger's conditions would prevent any non Built order.
    • (Unit-type((String((Issued order))))) Not equal to No unit-type


    The Description is still kinda weak.
     
  9. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I had indeed forgotten a debug message and a few useless things in there, thanks for catching that ^^...

    About that Unit-type as string, that's awesome... I don't remember it being possible, but it may be a 1.30 thing? Anyways, easy peasy fix.
     
  10. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    21
    Approved, Thanks for your contribution. An Alternative Base Building System.
    With this system, buildings can place buildings. The placed buildings are automatically built and, once completed, enlarge the area in which your own buildings can be placed.

    Command & Conquer, Rising Kingdoms and some other RTS use a similar principle.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2018
  11. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,201
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    Would be nice to have an add-on to allow seeing the permitted perimeter. It would make this system usable for my campaign.
     
  12. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    You mean like some sort of border? I can definitely do that. I actually did it before but I didn't think people would like it. But since you asked, I'll add a version with a border.

    This is how I did it last time:
    I can use tiny semi-transparent rally flags which would surround your perimeter, they are visible by all, get player color, can't be targeted and ignore terrain (through dummy units).

    What do you think? If you have a better idea on how to do this let me know.

    EDIT: Here is a prototype, but it's way too heavy when there's a lot of units :(
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2018
  13. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,201
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    You can go with special effect instead, especially if you're on newer patches. Still, same ol' leak problem. It's fine and will do for now. I'll just make a script to make it toggle-able.
     
  14. DiegoSan

    DiegoSan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It's much better after changes. Thank you very much for your efforts, this is really highly appreciated GUI system. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2018
  15. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    You're very welcome! Thank you for your suggestions and bug testing!

    PS: I am working on figuring out the best way to make the borders (in prototype version) using only special effects so that it doesn't lag.
     
  16. LegendzKing

    LegendzKing

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Sorry but, I'm kinda confuse. is there a filter, like it's only for one exact building?

    I follow the instruction that you give for copying to other map and my game got kicked, when my game is done loading it instantly close my Warcraft 3. Still don't know why though, because i don't know what to edit in the trigger.

    Is there any specific instruction?

    and why is there an inner fire spell in town hall?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
  17. ThisPOT

    ThisPOT

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I'm not sure why your game would crash using this, it shouldn't happen (probably something else in your map?). Also town hall shouldn't have inner fire ^^... Have you tried looking at the system / triggers before importing it into your map? It may help you figure out the cause of your problem. If you can't manage to fix it you can pm me also and I can try to implement it for you on your map if you like, let me know.

    PS: Sorry for the long delay!
     
  18. Hazop

    Hazop

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    822
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I could use some help with the system, I can build stuff outside of the range of the main building. (IE) if I have a castle at one side of the map, and some random farm on the other, I can build buildings around the farm???
     
  19. Yury

    Yury

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey, can this work on 1.26 patch?