1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Teleportation and "tunneling" structures {Starcraft's «nidus canal»}

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Hargoth, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. Hargoth

    Hargoth

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Hello, i was just wondering if anyone knew how to make a building like a waygate that could be contructed and could teleport users to other built teleportation buildings. I have already tried giving it the archamages mass teleportation ability, which would work fine in theory, exept for the fact that becasue the building cannot move the ability activates then disipates without anything happening.

    Also instead of that i thought i may be able to use a system like dawn of wars eldar webways, were if you mount troops into a webway gate you could unload them at another webway gate across the map, sort of like loading up a goblin zeplin and unloading them from another one across the map. That system would represent bunkers which were all conected by a tunnel which troops could move through.

    So if anyone has any ideas the would be much appretiated.
     
  2. Patoman

    Patoman

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Do you want it so that every building "X" can connect to any other Building "X" or are only two of the buildings connected like the nidus canal in Starcraft?
     
  3. Hargoth

    Hargoth

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    This one is exactly how i would like it.
     
  4. Patoman

    Patoman

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    maby you could do something like using the relly point of the building, assuming it doesn't train units, and use when a unit comes within X units of the building and if rallypoint of the building is with in X units of another building (of the same type) as well as owned by the same player (Or ally of player) and move entering unit to position of rally point.
    Don't no if it would work. See if anyone else has any ideas.
     
  5. FlameSoul

    FlameSoul

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I knew how to do this a long time ago, so, I am going to tell you what I remember and what I am able to find out quickly in the WE and you will have to find out pieces I don't.
    First of all, the unit should have the door hability (in spanish it's "habilidad puerta"), portals and gates found in neutral pasive have that hability. Then, to allow units to be teleported from one door to another one, you must place a region where the unit will be teleported after it enters the door.
    Now, multi-teleport was easy using a GUI if I don't remember bad. After you have your doors and regions you have to find out which one from the effect of an ability conditions works OK with the portal hability. Once you are able to do this, you open a dialog bar with dialog buttons corresponding to teleport points. After that you move instantly units in the door region to corresponding region, or you figure out how to change the doors porting region.
    Well, I cannot remember anything else about it, so you can easily comunicate two doors and are one or to steps from making the multiport.
    I'm sorry I cannot help you more.
    Good luck!

    (Regions are the key to this, you can trigger if unit enters region if u like)
     
  6. Hargoth

    Hargoth

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Yeah that works great, thx mate!