• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

+strength aura / damaging AoE spell, help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
107
Hello, i need an aura that increases strength.
And i also need an AoE spell that does damage, i cannot use Thunder clap cos i already have another spell with thunder clap, and i prefer not using war stomp cos then it will stun the taget for 0.01 sec which will interrupt spells being cast..

please help and thanks in advance =)
 
Level 7
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
180
I'm away from the WE right now, so I wrote these by hand so they aren't 100% correct.
  • Trigger 001
    • Events
      • A unit enters range within (256.00) of (unit)
    • Conditions
      • Entering unit is a hero equal to true
    • Actions
      • Add 1 strength to (hero)
  • Trigger 002
    • Events
      • A unit leaves range within (256.00) of (unit)
    • Conditions
      • Leaving unit is a hero equal to true
    • Actions
      • Remove 1 strength from (hero)
Like I said... I'm away from the editor now, but maybe you can figure it out from that.
 
Level 12
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,228
There is more to that, as "A unit comes in range of unit" is a specific unit event thus should be added by a trigger.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
129
I think that the only spell you can successfully change the orderstring on is channel.

[EDIT] Nevermind. Thanks Spiwn.
 
Last edited:
Level 17
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
2,013
I just recently posted this to another guy here.

Make an dummy aura, let's base this one of devotion aura. Null it. Make buffs, you know the drill?
Make a unit group variable
Next, make a trigger with the even every second of game time.
Actions - Pick all units in playable map area matching matching unit has buff (attri aura) equal to true
If/then/else
If - picked unit is in (attri aura unit group)
Then - (here you add the dummy ability( i do it in a spellbook, but with some item attribute bonus skills the icon doesn't show)
Else - do nothing
Pick all units in playable map area matching condition matching unit has buff (attri aura) equal to false and unit is in (attri aura unit group) equal to true
Remove the unit ability

I cannot look up in we how to fix the level of the ability(if it's for a hero) but ii guess you could use variables when the unit learns the ability:con:?

I've made both Magic Resistance aura and Bash Aura with this template:cool:
 
Level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
129
Assuming we want 3 levels, you need to do the following:

1) You need to make 3 different item strength bonus abilities, each with a higher bonus than the last. Use the editor suffix field to tell the abilities apart. Let's call them strbonus (1), strbonus (2), and strbonus (3). You also need a separate buff for each level of the ability. Again, use the editor suffix to tell them apart.

2) You need to make an ability array variable called BonusVar (or whatever you want to call it) The size of the array needs to be equal to the number of levels the ability has: in this case, 3.

3) Add these actions to your initialization trigger.
  • Actions:
  • Set BonusVar(1) = strbonus(1)
  • Set BonusVar(2) = strbonus(2)
  • Set BonusVar(3) = strbonus(3)
4) Then create this trigger, similar to the one terradont described above:

  • Strength Aura Trigger
    • Events:
    • Time - Every .5 seconds of game time
    • Conditions:
    • Actions:
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (playable map area) and do actions:
        • If, then, else:
          • Conditions:
            • Picked unit has buff (Str buff (1))
          • Actions:
            • Unit - Add ability (BonusVar(1)) to (picked unit).
          • Else:
            • Unit - Remove ability (BonusVar(1)) from (picked unit)
        • If, then, else:
          • Conditions:
            • Picked unit has buff (Str buff (2))
          • Actions:
            • Unit - Add ability (BonusVar(2)) to (picked unit).
          • Else:
            • Unit - Remove ability (BonusVar(2)) from (picked unit)
          • If, then, else:
            • Conditions:
              • Picked unit has buff (Str buff (3))
            • Actions:
              • Unit - Add ability (BonusVar(3)) to (picked unit).
            • Else:
              • Unit - Remove ability (BonusVar(3)) from (picked unit)
 
Level 12
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,228
Unit Group - Pick every unit in playable map area matching (matching unit has Buff (strbonus buff)) and do actions:
Add conditions for other buffs:)
 
Level 12
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,228
It is not different.
I was just completing it :)
But I must have gotten confused.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top