• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Sound File Conversion, Unit Soundsets Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 8
Hi, I am fairly new to Starcraft II editing (quite good on Warcraft III, but the galaxy editor is just mindblowingly difficult). A friend and I are hopefully going to make a map where we upload our own custom sounds and music into the game to be used in the game. Naievely I assumed I could just import and use it straight away. This is no the case.

When I record with my mic, the files are in WMA. Starcraft II doesn't seem to like WMA, I've heard it much preffers OGG or MP3 or something. I am just wondering if anyone could reccomend a cheap and safe way of getting the files useable in the editor.

I would also like to know how I could create a custom unit soundset. As far as I am aware, I need to go into the data editor and go to the sound file, but after that I am stumped. I am not entirely sure what to do.

I am pretty sure I can work out how to make sounds play at certain points by loading up some campaign files, it is just making units use certain soundsets and getting the sounds imported in the first place.

I apologise if there is a tutorial about this I haven't found. Just link it to me if there is.

In summary:
1 - how can I make WMA sound files useable in the Galaxy Editor?
2 - how can I make units use my custom soundsets?

Last edited:
Level 7