• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Import] So...How Does One Fix Missing Textures and Models?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I know this is a rookie issue, well, sadly I am a rookie in such matter...
Here's how it went down for me:
1. I downloaded a pack, which comes with a mdx and several dds files.
2. I imported all of them into import manager, reforged edition to be exactly.
Then, something was off.
When I choose to apply custom path to the mdx file in unit editing, a large section of the model would be without textures.
When I changed the path inside import manager according to the tutorials that I googled, then apply the imported path (Even without changing the paths), the model itself went missing as the big old green-black box was seen inside the World Editor...
Guess I rly should look for a better tutorial for reforged edition...

Edit: I suspect it has something to do with my World Editor, it seems unable to recognise .dds files as textures, they were labelled as 'others' instead, now the mdx files seems not working properly, I'm stuck with the green&black box for now.

Last edited:
Level 2
I noticed that one major issue is the World Editor kept alerting me that it could not locate the mdl file that import system automatically looking for, maybe something to do with that?
Also I just noticed that my Import Manager could not identify dds files as textures, maybe it was the world editor itself got me?

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
DDS is not supported by legacy versions of Warcraft III. Make sure you are running the latest (Reforged).