1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Simple tree edits

Discussion in 'Requests' started by Xonok, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    I'm having trouble with using tree models on units. I extracted all the models and when I looked in them with MDX pather I saw that they don't have any textures listed.

    The request:
    All barrens tree wall trees
    with ashenvale canopy texture

    Attached models are everything that I found in the barrens tree folder of the MPQ.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JesusHipster

    JesusHipster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,033
    Resources:
    55
    Models:
    48
    Icons:
    7
    Resources:
    55
    There is such a thing as a replaceable texture in warcraft, which means that you possibly can't use them as units:
     
  3. Ender

    Ender

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    @Hipster, Yes you can, you just have to use warclub ability to set their texture. here is tut on it.
     
  4. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    It was done in WEU, so I guess it somehow is possible.

    I would use this way, but the problem is that I can not afford to let all trees cast warclub after initialization.
     
  5. Ender

    Ender

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
  6. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    I felt like I a little kid when I saw the first and it worked. Keep going, it's awesome.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  7. Ender

    Ender

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    sorry it took me so long to finish, its really boring work.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    I understand. I recently tried turning into a war3map.j into reasonable shape.