• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Simple dummy stun?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I was reading about simple dummy units (using triggers, not jass) and came up with an idea. I've never used dummys before, and a usefull thing would be to stun a unit with a dummy.

So, the idea is like this; to use a trigger (event: unit casts a spell), to create dummy who attacks (once) targeted unit with spell. The dummy has a 100% bash for 2 seconds.

Would this work?, if please give tips of how to create and use the dummy.
Does this not work?, then are there other simple ways of stunning with dummys?

PS. anyone interested in making an "Eragon"/"Eldest" map?? pm me!

Level 6
1st
if you want to use a dummy, you should know that it (most often) courses some increase of the 'lagability' of your map. Therefore you should only use them, if the other ways would slow your map even more, or if they are way more complicated.

2nd
Dummy units need to be invisible to the player/s
It also needs to act without taking any time t all.
Therefore you should do the following stuff whenever using a dummy:
  • dummy - colision range = 0
  • dummy - movementtype = flying
  • dummy - abilities - permanent invisibility (modified to take 0.01 seconds to recloak)
  • dummy - abilities - invincibility
  • dummy - abilities - locust (the one that the swarm units have and that courses them to be unselectable)
  • dummy - abilities - <some passiv to be able to see invisible units>
  • dummy - model - use a custom model that does not exist - that way it has none and can not create any model-bound sounds
  • dummy - does not decay and can't be resurected
  • dummy - sightrange = max