• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

silence specific abilities

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
Hello, I have an ability that adds lifesteal and silences the same unit. The issue is, life steal is also silenced.
Can I somehow prevent it?
Maybe something along the lines of
ability group - pick every ability that belongs to triggering unit and
if picked ability =/= lifesteal
disable ability

But I can't find ability group, only player and unit
 
Level 25
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
1,465
It seems to say here that auras don't get silenced. so you can base the lifesteal off of the dreadlord aura.

 
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
It seems to say here that auras don't get silenced. so you can base the lifesteal off of the dreadlord aura.

afaik dreadlord aura only works on melee, but I need it to work on ranged too
 
Level 25
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,798
afaik dreadlord aura only works on melee, but I need it to work on ranged too
Damage Engine, install it and make this trigger:
  • Vamp Aura
    • Events
      • Game - DamageEvent becomes Equal to 1.00
    • Conditions
      • (DamageEventTarget has buff Vampiric Aura) Equal to True
    • Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • (DamageEventSource is A melee attacker) Equal to True
        • Then - Actions
          • Unit - Set life of DmgEvUnit to ((Life of DamageEventTarget) + (DamageEventAmount x 0.15))
        • Else - Actions
          • Unit - Set life of DmgEvUnit to ((Life of DamageEventTarget) + (DamageEventAmount x 0.05))
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the origin of DamageEventSource using Abilities\Spells\Undead\VampiricAura\VampiricAuraTarget.mdl
      • Special Effect - Destroy (Last created special effect)
 
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
Damage Engine, install it and make this trigger:
  • Vamp Aura
    • Events
      • Game - DamageEvent becomes Equal to 1.00
    • Conditions
      • (DamageEventTarget has buff Vampiric Aura) Equal to True
    • Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • (DamageEventSource is A melee attacker) Equal to True
        • Then - Actions
          • Unit - Set life of DmgEvUnit to ((Life of DamageEventTarget) + (DamageEventAmount x 0.15))
        • Else - Actions
          • Unit - Set life of DmgEvUnit to ((Life of DamageEventTarget) + (DamageEventAmount x 0.05))
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the origin of DamageEventSource using Abilities\Spells\Undead\VampiricAura\VampiricAuraTarget.mdl
      • Special Effect - Destroy (Last created special effect)
Is it possible to find out damage amount without damage engine?
 
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
Of course, but the engine makes it way simpler.
Is it possible to do ot with GUI? As far as I understand, I need to reduce base damage of attacking unit by defence % of attacked unit, but how can I do that? I've only seen armor rating in values not % of damage negation. And I need to make it so that it checks whether attacked unit has resistant skin and reduce the damage by that amount. Is that all?
 
Level 25
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,798
Is it possible to do ot with GUI? As far as I understand, I need to reduce base damage of attacking unit by defence % of attacked unit, but how can I do that? I've only seen armor rating in values not % of damage negation. And I need to make it so that it checks whether attacked unit has resistant skin and reduce the damage by that amount. Is that all?
Wait are you referring to doing it without Damage Engine or with it?
 
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
Wait are you referring to doing it without Damage Engine or with it?
Without damage engine ofc, but I can find the damage source with series of triggers I've come up with in thread mentioned by you above.
 
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
Then the resulting damage should be already the final amount AFTER armor, reductions, and all that noise.
But you are really shooting yourself in the foot, damage engine is pretty game changing.
It only checks who attacked and who the killer is, it does not calculate damage dealt.
 
Level 24
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
942
detecting damage in GUI is easy. all you need is a bit of custom script to add the event.
1639062354830.png

here the neutrals are added separately because "all players" for some reason doesn't contain them
 

Attachments

  • 1639062431825.png
    1639062431825.png
    20.9 KB · Views: 11
Level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
41
just out of curiosity, why don't you want to use damage engine? it will take you only a few minutes to figure out how to use, and it adds a ton of utility .
I don't want to use things that I don't understand and I don't have time to learn code.
Anyway, with triggers I've made before I've managed to make my own little damage system without code.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top