1. Are you planning to upload your awesome spell or system to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Rooting [Nature]

Submitted by Paladon
This bundle is marked as substandard. It may contain bugs, not perform optimally or otherwise be in violation of the submission rules.
Ok, the idea came up while making my entry for the Spells & Systems Mini-Contest #16.
Although this spell isn´t as exciting as the Purge of Nature, i still think it´s a pretty nice idea.
______________________________________________________
Rooting
The druid is able to invoke the powers of the nature whenever he wants. However, this allows him to summon a net of roots at the targeted position. While upholding the net, there will be a chance of 30% per second to root an enemied unit, standing on the net, for 0.50 seconds and 50 damage. The net becomes invisible for enemies after one second. The druid may uphold the net up to 5/10/15 seconds.

Changelog:
*Removed a bug reported by xxdingo93xx.
*Removed a little problem with looping sounds.

Keywords:
Nature, Roots, Root, Druid, Earth, Furion, Life, Plant,
Contents

Rooting [Nature] (Map)

Reviews
Moderator
12.12 IcemanBo: For long time as NeedsFix. Rejected. Bribe There are some memory leak issues in the conditions blocks for "Rooting" and "Dummy" that need to be fixed. (Random integer number between 1 and (100 / 30)) Equal to 1 - Just use 33...
  1. 12.12
    IcemanBo: For long time as NeedsFix. Rejected.

    Bribe

    There are some memory leak issues in the conditions blocks for "Rooting" and "Dummy" that need to be fixed.

    (Random integer number between 1 and (100 / 30)) Equal to 1
    - Just use 33 instead of 100 / 33

    Use of normal point variables instead of array point variables is better.

    The memory leaks are the main reason to pull this off the "Approved" shelf.
     
  2. StaberFire

    StaberFire

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    682
    Resources:
    8
    Icons:
    4
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    8
    Ooh nice spell. You make two and I can hardly manage one. =P
    I know, I'll steal this one! I kid, I kid.
     
  3. xD.Schurke

    xD.Schurke

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    948
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    wah you stole my name... :D, nice spell btw :p
     
  4. xxdingo93xx

    xxdingo93xx

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Idea/Creativity: 8/10
    Coding: 9/10
    Balance: 9/10
    Ability Tooltip: 10/10
    MUI: MUI (+2/10)
    (Yes: +2/10, No: -2/10, MPI: +/-0/10)
    Language: GUI (+/- 0/10)
    (GUI: +/- 0/10, Jass: +1/10, vJass: +2/10)
    Total: 37/40

    Medial: 9/10 = 4/5

    Viewers Note:
    A very good, optically fitting idea.
    The coding is very good, all leaks are removed and as it seems it is made MUI.
    But there is a reason for not giving you 10 points:
    [​IMG]
    I noticed this bug. I casted on that place before and somehow it still roots the units which stand there. I'm pleased if you'd fix that.
    It is balanced well but you could've add documentation how to configure the values.
    Ability tooltip is the standard wc3 ability tooltip style what every spell should have at least.
    It is made in GUI and MUI as mentioned above what gave you an extra score.
    All in all this spell is very useful and I can recommend it (as long as the bug seems to be fixed...^^)
     
  5. TheBlooddancer

    TheBlooddancer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I cant find that bug Dingo, but i see it on your screenshot..
    Anyhow, neat spell, and its not just cool cause of the model. That happens quite a lot.

    But~ The spell could need some 1% chance of something uber. Giga net or something.
     
  6. Paladon

    Paladon

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,083
    Resources:
    42
    Icons:
    28
    Packs:
    2
    Spells:
    12
    Resources:
    42
    Thank you all!

    @dingo
    You found a strange bug. I´ll try to remove it. Thanks a lot!

    You need an idea? I got 4 four ideas for the contest. Currently making the other ones xD
    So if you need ideas...just ask.

    You´re right xD

    EDIT: *Update*
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  7. xxdingo93xx

    xxdingo93xx

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Perhaps I have a reason for that bug. I casted it a lot of times and didn't want to wait all the cooldown.
    I maybe accidantally pressed ESC while casting. Couldv'e activated thst bug >.<
    If it is not this, I don't know what it was.
    Anyway no worries, I casted the spell a lot of times so the chance to get this bug is very low.
     
  8. Paladon

    Paladon

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,083
    Resources:
    42
    Icons:
    28
    Packs:
    2
    Spells:
    12
    Resources:
    42
    Read my post / description. Already fixed it xD
    However, thanks.
    It was caused by using no cooldown (esc) and casting the spell again with the same hero (wouldn´t appear for multiple heroes) after two seconds (at the latest).
    It was a rare bug. But it´s fixed.
     
  9. xxdingo93xx

    xxdingo93xx

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
  10. Jay-D

    Jay-D

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    another fantasty work made by 'the god of gui' 5/5
     
  11. Marcos DAB

    Marcos DAB

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,041
    Resources:
    218
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    214
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    218
    I just use it.