• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Root Bone Animation Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 12
Hey, all! I'm a novice modeler in need of some advice or a fix here with an animation issue. I needed to give the Eredar model an actual fall-over death animation, so I made one in Mdlvis. A little over-the-top, I admit, but that's what I needed for this design. The problem is that the Eredar returns to his default stand position at the end of the animation, but if I copy one of the frames that would keep him on the ground to the end of the animation, he starts sinking into the ground then floats up out of it before resetting to his final position. It has to do with how I've manipulated his root bone, I think, but I don't know how to fix it. I've tried to compensate for it manually but the sinking/floating just moves elsewhere in the animation. I've attached the version that reverts to standing in hopes that someone could point out to me how to keep it from doing so. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for your time!

Attachments

• AnimTest.mdx
    157.7 KB · Views: 47
Level 14
Hey elf lord I recently saw the beginning of the youtube playthrough of Chasing the Dawn. It's one of the best things I've seen done in Warcraft 3: thank you for making it! I'll have a look to the model and see if I can help you in any way.

Level 14