• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Reverse Life Drain Healing spell

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
I've been working on a custom race for my campaign, and wanted the healer
unit for the race to be a high health regeneration caster, that channels its
health into allied units. I tired changing life drain's damage to a negative value
and set the targets allowed to allies, but it still says that the target must be an
enemy. After failing at that, I figured I'd have to make it a trigger based ability,
but I'm not very good with those. Any help is appreciated :D
(sorry posted this in wrong section)

Last edited:
Level 10
I tired changing life drain's damage to a negative value and set the targets allowed to allies, but it still says that the target must be an enemy.

OK, first, you don't need negative values - by default, if Drain is cast on an ally, it will transfer health TO the target, FROM the caster. It's just that, by default, it's not allowed to be cast on an ally. To get it to work:

1. Be sure Gameplay - Drain Transfers Life is set to True in the Gameplay Constants for your map.
2. The spell must have a non-zero "Drain - Life Transferred Per Second".
3. The target must not be at full health.

sentrywiz

S

sentrywiz

Interesting idea.

Use a dummy life drain that drains 0 health. That way you get the channeling lightning effect.

Next make a hashtable inputing the X you want the caster to transfer over each Y seconds. Save it into a hashtable. Before healing, check if the caster's health is lower than the amount of the health about to be lost.

I can't find the link but search the forum for wyrmlord's hashtable tutorial. Just modify the healing over time spell to both heal the ally and deal damage to the caster.

[cons]