• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[General] Restart the counter of an index ability

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hi, I’m a bit new to the MUI(Index), and I’d like to know how to restart the counter when launching the skill on the same unit more than 1 time.

The problem is that my spell adds another spell to the chosen drive and when the counter reaches its limit it is removed (normal). But releasing it on the same drive does not restart the counter, so the added ability does not restart its time before being deleted.

I leave the map with skill, I hope you can help me.

Attachments

• Empower Index.w3x
    17.9 KB · Views: 16

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 64
Have you ever used a Unit Indexer? Here's an example of your ability using one.

It's very similar to what you were doing already but I personally find it easier to work with.

Attachments

• Empower Index Uncle.w3x
    23.5 KB · Views: 19

Wrda

Spell Reviewer
Level 26
The big difference is that Unit Indexer uses unit's custom value for spells, meaning that if you have a spell over time or something that isn't instant, it will reset its characteristics and start over.
Dynamic Indexing, which it's what you're using, enables you to have multiple instances of the same skill on the same unit.
Although Uncle is right, Unit Indexer is trully more appropriate for this spell.

Level 2
Have you ever used a Unit Indexer? Here's an example of your ability using one.

It's very similar to what you were doing already but I personally find it easier to work with.