• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Request for a hiveworkshop policy on models:

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all,

Im a StarCraft 2 modeler that has gained a fair share of success in a few maps by porting over WarCraft 3 assets to use.

There are a lot of great models on hiveworkshop that, with a fair number of alterations, can be used in StarCraft 2.

The question is do I have to contact every single maker of a model posted on hiveworkshop just to use what is essentially the same thing for StarCraft 2?

Here is what I'm thinking:

It is ok to port a model that was posted on HiveWorkShop without the maker's permission provided that:

1. The porter credits the maker of the WarCraft 3 version in his map.
2. The porter posts the ported model (and textures) in the StarCraft 2 Assets portion of HiveWorkShop with credit to the original maker. This posted name may claim no credit for the model on behalf of the person who ported it. So say a certain "bob" made a few boat models models. I cannot post them in the StarCraft 2 section saying "Focke's Carrack" or something that attempts to steal the main credit.
3. The porter may not post the ported model on any other website without the original creator's permission.

What do you guys think?

I'm going to be making guides on how to do this over at BrokenAlliances.com but any non-Blizzard assets will most likely come from here. It would be nice not having to wait on PMs from people who haven't been seen in 3 years.

The content made here is not owned by Hiveworkshop, so we can't make a policy for it.