1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Real-time dialog boxes. Possible?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Solu9, Mar 8, 2014.

  1. Solu9

    Solu9

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Resources:
    47
    Models:
    26
    Icons:
    16
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    47
    Now the type of dialog box I'm talking about is not the standard dialog of WarCraft 3. You now the kind shown when you lose.

    No. I'm wondering if it is possible to create something like this:
    [​IMG]

    A dialog system which won't pause the game completely and is able to show dialog above, or near, the speaker.
     
  2. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,380
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
    Have you tried it with floating texts above unit? Or is the box very important for you?
     
  3. Solu9

    Solu9

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Resources:
    47
    Models:
    26
    Icons:
    16
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    47
    Hehe IcemanBo, now give me a little credit :p
    Of course I could simply use floating text but yeah, the box (or something the like) is what I am looking for.
    Floating text looks sloppy as dialog on it's own. I would like it to be more organized.
     
  4. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,380
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
  5. Solu9

    Solu9

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Resources:
    47
    Models:
    26
    Icons:
    16
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    47
    Hah that is incredibly annoying to look at :)
    Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  6. DysfunctionaI

    DysfunctionaI

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    281
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  7. Solu9

    Solu9

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Resources:
    47
    Models:
    26
    Icons:
    16
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    47
    Hmm yeah. That's an idea.
    I just see two problems with that method.

    1. Objects and units will "block" the images no? I mean units will always appear walking upon the image.

    2. The images follows the terrain. No problem if the camera is pointed 90 degree directly at the ground. But when it gets angled the image will get out of it's square shape.

    I'm almost sure I recall watching a youtube video of what I am asking, but I can't find it.
     
  8. muzzel

    muzzel

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Wurst:
    1
    Resources:
    2
  9. Solu9

    Solu9

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Resources:
    47
    Models:
    26
    Icons:
    16
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    47
    Now we are talking.
    I hope I can figure out how to implement and make it work properly.

    So far, thanks for that link muzzel :)

    On a side note.
    That's a pretty badass inventory system he got there.
     
  10. muzzel

    muzzel

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Wurst:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Thats not an inventory system o_O
     
  11. Solu9

    Solu9

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Resources:
    47
    Models:
    26
    Icons:
    16
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    47
  12. muzzel

    muzzel

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Wurst:
    1
    Resources:
    2
  13. Dat-C3

    Dat-C3

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,487
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    Open the image in Model Editor and save it with .mdx at the end. Then rotate it the way you want. Change the material filter mode to something like Blend, and make sure you uncheck unshaded and unfogged in that same material window unless you want it to always be seen in darkened areas of your map. Mdx Pather lets you pick the path you want for the skin/image which can either be BLP or TGA format in your map.

    Full credits go to Tickles for figuring this method out, it is exactly what you want because from the picture that isn't your ordinary dialog box. You make your own box through textures then convert it to a model then import it.

    Here is an example so yeah it is possible