Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Point To Point Unit System

Discussion in 'Trigger (GUI) Editor Tutorials' started by rover2341, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. rover2341

    rover2341

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    592
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    Send a Unit To one point, and then send him to the next spot as soon as he gets there.
    Keep in mind that when you send a unit to a point war craft will stop that unit with in 20 of that point. If its much less then 20 away and it notices, then it doesn't move at all.

    The Steps Used
    Setup
    Start
    Check If Unit Reached Point


    Setup
    First Create An Array of Points.
    Second crate a Counter (To Keep Track of what your on)
    Third Create a TotalPoints (So you know how many points)

    • Set up Points
      • Events
        • Map initialization
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Set CustomPoint[0] = (Point(0.00, 1000.00))
        • Set CustomPoint[1] = (Point(1000.00, 0.00))
        • Set CustomPoint[2] = (Point(1000.00, 1000.00))
        • Set CustomPoint[3] = (Point(2000.00, 2000.00))
        • Set CustomPoint[4] = (Point(0.00, 0.00))
        • Set TotalPoints = 5
        • Set CurrentPoint = 0



    Start
    Forth Create A Unit And Send it To the first point
    5th Turn on the trigger Check if Unit Reached Point

    • Start
      • Events
        • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing Start as An exact match
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Unit - Create 1 Footman for Player 1 (Red) at (Center of (Playable map area)) facing Default building facing degrees
        • Set MyUnit = (Last created unit)
        • Unit - Order MyUnit to Move To CustomPoint[CurrentPoint]
        • Trigger - Turn on Check If Unit Reached Point <gen>



    Check If Unit Reached Point
    Every (.1) sec (or your choice of how often)
    Check If the unit is with in 20 of x and 20 of y.
    If So Then Current Point + 1.
    And send unit to next point.
    Then check if You have made it too all your points, and if you have turn off Check If Unit Reached Point

    • Check If Unit Reached Point
      • Events
        • Time - Every 0.10 seconds of game time
      • Conditions
        • (X of (Position of MyUnit)) Greater than ((X of CustomPoint[CurrentPoint]) - 20.00)
        • (X of (Position of MyUnit)) Less than ((X of CustomPoint[CurrentPoint]) + 20.00)
        • (Y of (Position of MyUnit)) Greater than ((Y of CustomPoint[CurrentPoint]) - 20.00)
        • (Y of (Position of MyUnit)) Less than ((Y of CustomPoint[CurrentPoint]) + 20.00)
      • Actions
        • Set CurrentPoint = (CurrentPoint + 1)
        • Trigger - Run Send Unit To Point <gen> (checking conditions)
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • CurrentPoint Equal to (TotalPoints - 1)
          • Then - Actions
            • Trigger - Turn off Check If Unit Reached Point <gen>
          • Else - Actions


    This is a system i came up with when working on projects that required units to have many different points, and points that were defined in game. I found it to be more easy to deal with then creating moving and working with triggered regions.

    From User Request, I have made a MUI Version. Basically you can use it to work with alot of units at the same time. I have decided that Going into much detail of it wont be very useful, as the main concept was explained, and they need to be customized to your game.

    With MUI Version, You take in array of points, and divide it. (about 8k) with all your units you plan to use. so 8k / 100 units = 80 points per unit.

    Next You add the points you need, Then you run a trigger that will loop in till all of the units have go to there last point. I have in example of that trigger in The map below thats MUI.

    Any questions or comments are welcome.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009
  2. ady_illidan

    ady_illidan

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    753
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Is pretty short... I like it. :)
     
  3. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    The fact that it isn't MUI is a major pitfall. That should really be worked on.
     
  4. rover2341

    rover2341

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    592
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    K, I will do my best to figure out how to do that. and too see if its possible with the GUI. Ill get on it soon.
    But the point of this was more of the concept. But i am sure if i can get it to be MUI it will be more useful.
     
  5. ZlatniLav

    ZlatniLav

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I like this tutorial because:

    1. Short
    2. Neat
    3. Easy to understand
    4. Trigger and Map Examples
    5. Leakless
    6. Very usefull

    If I can, I would rate this tutorial with 5/5!
    Good Job rover2341!
     
  6. Linaze

    Linaze

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,059
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    You can actually rate the tutorial by rating the thread, you know.
     
  7. KaiserG

    KaiserG

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    207
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hum, I'm scripting a boss on my bro's rpg. And he casts a Doom Portal, wich sucks all nearby units slowly. The problem is that when moving instantly as you say, the unit gets freezed. So what i need is that the units being sucked could "ran away" from the portal, but still being dragged into the portal. I've only seen something near this on hungry hungry felhounds, so I'm starting to think its not possible to do.
    Do you know of any way to do this rover? Thanks in advance :D
     
  8. rover2341

    rover2341

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    592
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    This, wouldn't be the way to do that. What you need, is something i think that Slides it backwards, In other words Teleports it backwards, but after it does that have the unit still move to where the player asked it to move. At least I think that could solve your problem

    MUI Version added.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009